Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Svoboda enters Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame

August 29, 2014
Dysart Reporter

Eighty-two counties and two state level Iowa 4-H volunteers were inducted into the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame during the 2014 ceremony at the 4-H Exhibits Building at the Iowa State Fair on Sunday, Aug. 17. Inductees or their surviving family members were presented a certificate by the Iowa 4-H Foundation as they were introduced on stage. In alphabetical order, Adair to Jackson Counties were recognized at 1:30, while Jefferson to Wright County were recognized at 3:30. A reception, sponsored by donors to the Iowa 4-H Foundation, was held shortly after each of the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame presentations.

County honorees were selected by their respected counties for their outstanding service and dedication to

4-H, while the Iowa State University Extension and Outreach Iowa 4-H Programs office nominated two honorees this year for their service to Iowa 4-H and beyond. Inductees are selected for their exceptional work in contributing to the lives of 4-H members and the overall 4-H program. Many inductees served as club leaders, youth mentors, fair superintendents, fair board members, Iowa State University Extension county council members, county youth council members, fair judges, financial supporters, chaperones, Iowa 4-H Foundation Trustees, or ISU Extension and Outreach staff members. The inductees have demonstrated dedication, encouragement, commitment and guidance to Iowa's 4-H'ers through the years.

Article Photos

Pictured are Albert Grunenwald, Iowa 4-H Foundation and 2014 Benton County Iowa 4-H Hall of Inductee, Greg Svoboda.

"This is a wonderful opportunity for county and state 4-H volunteers and 4-H staff to recognized and celebrated for their outstanding service and dedication to Iowa's 4-H program," said Albert Grunenwald, Interim Executive Director of the Iowa 4-H Foundation.

Information about this year's inductees to the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame also is available on the Iowa 4-H Foundation website, organized by year and by county, at Photos of the inductees with Interim Executive Director Albert Grunenwald can be found on the Foundation's Flicker page,

The Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame was established in 2002 to help commemorate the 100th anniversary of 4-H. A summary of previous honorees are also available on the Iowa 4-H Foundation's website.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web