Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Al & Ruth Schafbuch named Dysart Citizens of the Year

February 21, 2014
Dysart Reporter

The Dysart Lions Club held their annual February Spouse/Friend and Awards Night on February 6, at the Dysart Community Building. President Sherry Lyons presided over the meeting with 31 Lions and 20 guests present. Following a delicious meal prepared by Becky Walters, and the reading of the minutes of the last board meeting, the awards presentations started. District Governor Elect Bill Pollard was present to help award and honor the recipients as they came forward to accept their awards. Twenty-six attendance pins were handed out ranging from one year to Don Lyons 50 year perfect attendance pin. The Lion of the Year Award is voted on by the entire membership of the club and they selected Lion Rick Krug for this honor. Lion Krug has been very active in the Dysart Lions and has been Dysart Lions Chairperson when the club co-sponsors the annual "Live Theatre in Dysart" with the Garrison Lions Club. Rick has served as President of the club as well as three vice president offices, tail twister, and is currently on the board of directors. He was also surprised when his family came in as his award presentation started. Lion Rick also received a nine year attendance award. Next was the Melvin Jones Award which is Lions International's plaque for Highest Dedication to Humanitarian Service. Lion Doug Mehlhaus received this very high honor for his service to his Lions Club in which he has served as a director, three vice president's offices, president, and of course, tail twister. Lions Doug also received a nine year attendance pin. As well as the plaque, Lion Doug received a lapel pin stating he is a Melvin Jones Fellow, which is one of Lions most prestigious honors. Lions Dwayne Luze, President of the Dysart Development Corporation, came forward to present the Dysart Citizen of the Year Award. This program was started in 1993 when Terry and Janet Trunck were named the first winners of this award. The nominee's for the Citizen of the Year are judged by the last five winners of the award. Letters are sent to the DDC which runs this contest and it is sponsored by the Dysart Lions. This year's "Citizens of the Year" are Al and Ruth Schafbuch! The Schafbuchs have been living in Dysart for the past five years since moving in from their farm just two miles east of town. Since becoming Dysart residents, they have been extremely active on the Dysart Tree Board, working endless hours after the big wind storm, and now accepting the challenging job of cataloging all the trees in Dysart preparing for the Ash tree problems. They are both very active in the Dysart United Methodist Church, the Dysart Community Foundation, the Dysart Development Corporation, the Farm Bureau, and the new group to rebuild the bike trail from Dysart to Vinton. They are also known for the wonderful decorations at their home at Christmas and other holidays. The trail information and the Christmas Lighting Contest award were two of the ways Dwayne used to get Ruth and Al as guests of the club for this event. Congratulations to the Schafbuchs and we look forward to seeing them in the Fourth of July parade as Citizens of the Year. This very fine evening closed with Tail Twister John Mehlert awarding the raffle prizes for the evening and everyone attending received a small box of candy.

Article Photos

Al and Ruth Schafbuch were named as Dysart’s Citizens of the Year at the Lions Awards Night. Pictured for the presentation are (l to r): District Governor Elect Bill Pollard, President Sherry Lyons, Ruth Schafbuch, Al Schafbuch, and Lion Dwayne Luze.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web