Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Bright Eagles 4-H Club honored by governor

July 5, 2013
Dysart Reporter

The Bright Eagles 4-H Club of La Porte City, Iowa received a 2013 Governor's Volunteer Award from Governor Terry E. Branstad and Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds during a special recognition ceremony held June 12, 2013 in Marion, Iowa.

The Governor's Volunteer Awards (GVA) program was created in 1982, with inaugural awards presented in 1983. What began as a small program only available to state government agencies has expanded over the years and now provides all Iowa nonprofit, charitable and government organizations with an easy way to honor their volunteers with a prestigious state-level recognition award. Several hundred volunteers are recognized each year with awards in one of four categories: Individual, Group, Length of Service or Disaster Volunteer.

"Volunteerism is an important part of the state's future and well-being," said Governor Branstad. "I am honored to have the opportunity to recognize the people of our great state who continue the tradition of neighbor helping neighbor and working tirelessly to improve their communities. Collectively, Iowa's volunteers contribute to our ranking among the top three states in the nation for our volunteer rate."

Article Photos

Pictured at the 30th Annual Governor’s Volunteer Awards ceremony in Marion are, front row (L toR): Caroline Hutcheson, Tristen Heth, Lexa Krug, Trevor Krug, and Lt. Governor Kim Reynolds. Bac k row: Governor Terry Branstad, Janice Heth, Joe Ruzicka, Travis Heth, Weston Krug, and Rick Krug.

"The Governor and I sincerely congratulate all of this year's award recipients," said Lt. Governor Reynolds. "All are very deserving of the honor, and we thank them for their tremendous and selfless efforts and devotion to make a difference."

The Bright Eagles 4-H Club was honored with a Group Volunteer Award by the Iowa Department of Transportation for its efforts to keep ditches free from refuse on Iowa Highway 21 approximately ten miles north of Dysart. Club members include Caroline Hutcheson, Lexa Krug, Travis Heth, Trevor Krug, Weston Krug, Rachel Hall, Ethan Steffen, Joe Ruzicka, and Tristen Heth. Club leaders include Janice Heth and Rick Krug, and volunteer Mary Hanna of Knoxville.

The Governor's Volunteer Award program is coordinated by the Iowa Commission on Volunteer Service and the Governor's Office. For more information, visit or call 515-725-3094.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web