Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Looking Back - 02/15/13

February 15, 2013
Dysart Reporter

Feb. 16, 1933

Mr. and Mrs. Emil Jans, residing on the Mehlhaus farm northeast of Dysart, have a new eight pound boy born to them Tuesday, February 14. The family now consists of eight girls and four boys.

Monday, February 13, was the 20th wedding anniversary of Mr. and Mrs. Joe Barta of north Dysart. A family dinner was held on Sunday.

Feb. 18, 1943

Mr. and Mrs. Mryon Schuchart announce the birth of a son born Wednesday evening at the Vinton hospital.

Dr. and Mrs. R. E. Christopher received word that a son was born February 12, to Mr. and Mrs. R. G. Huzarski (Shirley Christopher) at Rhinelander, Wisc.

Feb. 14, 1963

The Dysart firemen were called to the Lawrence Fowler home on Sherman Street Friday morning when a chimney was burning out and falling sparks threatened to start a roof blaze.

The Dysart Junior High girls will go after their seventh straight victory, ending their season at Garrison Tuesday. The undefeated Junior High boys team ends their season here this weekend, going against Belle Plaine.

Feb. 15, 1973

Four Dysart-Geneseo wrestlers are slated to be in district competition this Friday and Saturday at Wartburg College in Waverly. They are Scott Hilmer, Kendall Kriz, Bruce Mask, and Jim Lewman.

Mr. and Mrs. Ted Forbes will celebrate their silver wedding anniversary with an open house on Sunday, February 25. The couple's six children will host the event.

Feb. 17, 1983

Two rural La Porte City men were killed Wednesday, February 9, in a plane crash near Garwin. They were Peter John Youngblut, 30, and Robert G. Porter, 33.

Patricia and Russell Schild became parents of twin daughters born Wednesday, February 9. They have been named Brooke Rene and Alanna Rose.

Feb. 18, 1993

Union High senior running back/linebacker Jason Fowler has been selected to participate in the 1993 Iowa Shrine All-Star Football Game to take place in July at Morningside College in Sioux City.

The Union Knights advanced nine to the district meet in Iowa Falls. They are Brett Steffen, John Meier, David Marrah, Jason Hanna, Paul Odette, Mike Lindeman, Chad Taylor, Craig Clark and Jacob Grote.

Feb. 20, 2003

Ten wrestlers from Union High School have advanced to District competition, and the team also won the title at the sectional meet. Those advancing are Brett Hakeman, Jacy Watts, Tyler DeSousa, Nic Hanna, Ben Dunkelberger, Brock Reiter, Nick Reiter, Nick Pennell, Wade Broom, and Brady Hakeman.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web