The Dysart Historical Center's July 29th program featured the history of the Dysart Fire Department.
Dysart's veteran fireman, Harold Langbehn, presented the timely and fascinating story of how the local fire department was founded in the 1870's and how it developed into the state-of-the-art volunteer organization on which we all depend today.
Fireman Jeff Knupp described and modeled the equipment which a fireman dons today to fight a fire. The 30 guests in attendance all gained even greater pride and appreciation for our local fire department after viewing the program by Harold and Jeff.
Above, Jeff Knupp models what a successful firefighter wears into a building for the audience at the Historical Center during the July 29 program. At left, Harold Langbehn gives some of the history of the Dysart Fire Department during the presentation.
Refreshments were served following the program.
The August program at the Historical Center will feature a wildlife art show and a presentation on birding by Mary Ann Gregory. Please be sure to watch the Dysart Reporter and the local channel for details. The Dysart Historical Center is open on Sundays through from 2:00 P.M. until 4:00 P.M. and by appointment any time of the year by calling 476-7966 or 476-7345.