Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

A total of 8 Union Musicians selected to highest state honor

October 27, 2010
Dysart Reporter

The Union High School Music department did an outstanding showing at All-State auditions on Saturday October 23 in Hampton. A school record 7 vocalists and 1 instrumentalist were chosen for the All-State Music Festival. This is the highest honor a high school musician in the State of Iowa can receive. Selected for their third consecutive year were Haley Peters, Euphonium, senior daughter of Jeff & Shelley Peters; and TJ Gray, Tenor II, senior son of Todd & Angela Gray. Selected for a second year were Erica Barz, Alto II, senior daughter of Jim and Mel Barz & Richard Leipold, Bass I, senior son of Richard and Catherine Leipold. Selected for their first year were Casey Tecklenburg, Tenor II, junior son of Joe and Shary Tecklenburg, Kamryn Kronschnabel, Soprano II, junior daughter of Jeff and Jolene Kronschnabel, and Alex Miner, Bass I, sophomore son of Dave and Connie Miner. Selected as an alternate in the Soprano section was Lindsey Powell, Soprano II, sophomore daughter of Lynn & Judy Powell. Special congratulations also go out to 3 students who were recalled but not selected, Andy Heckroth on Alto Saxophone, Jordan Downs, Tenor II and Aly Garwood, Alto II. Their instructors are Tim J. Mitchell, vocally and Mike Bistline, instrumentally.

The festival takes place November 18th 20th and will be recorded by Iowa Public Television for broadcast over the Thanksgiving holiday. This program is under the auspices of the Iowa High School Music Association and the Iowa Music Educators Association.

Tickets may be purchased by phone with MasterCard, Visa or American Express at 319-363-1888. Orders may be placed between the hours of M-F 9:00am-9:00pm, Sat. 9am to 7pm and Sun. 10am to 6pm. All orders may be subject to convenience fees. A group rate is being allowed for groups of 20 or more tickets sold to a single purchaser.

Article Photos

Pictured from left to right- Back row-Alex Miner, Casey Tecklenburg, Erica Barz, Kamryn Kronschabel, Lindsey Powell. Middle row-TJ Gray, Haley Peters. Floor-Richard Leipold.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web