Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Harkin Announces Over $1 Million In Emergency Food And Shelter

January 6, 2010
Dysart Reporter

WASHINGTON, D.C. Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA) announced today that Iowa has been awarded $1,153,346 through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to fund the Emergency Food and Shelter Program (EFSP). Senator Harkin is a senior member of the Senate Appropriations Committee."This program has proved to be an essential social safety net, providing basic food and shelter for Iowans in times of need," Senator Harkin said. "I am pleased that we will have this funding available to assist victims in the critical moments following an emergency."

EFSP funds were first authorized by Congress in 1983 and are appropriated annually under the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act. EFSP funds are used to supplement food, shelter, rent, mortgage and utility assistance programs for people with non-disaster related emergencies.

The EFSP is administered by a national board of voluntary agencies and chaired by FEMA. Member agencies of the National Board include a diverse cross section of social service organizations. The National Board qualifies local jurisdictions for annual EFSP awards based on criteria involving current population, unemployment and poverty levels. Awards are then disbursed to local nonprofit organizations and government agencies in the eligible jurisdictions. The state set-aside allows Iowa to address pockets of homelessness or poverty particularly to help areas that undergo economic changes like plant closings, or assist communities where levels of unemployment or poverty do not quite rise to the required threshold for a direct allocation.

A full list of Iowa's funding follows.

Appanoose County $7,002

Black Hawk County $58,925

Cass County $6,765

Clinton County $26,673

Crawford County $5,771

Davis County $4,792

Des Moines County $22,460

Johnson County $44,728

Marshall County $20,161

Page County $8,857

Polk County $190,778

Scott County $80,851

Story County $28,661

Union County $5,949

Wapello County $21,570

Webster County $18,855

Woodbury County $41,019

State Set-Aside Committee, IA $559,529

Iowa Total $1,153,346



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web