Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Tama County Board Of Supervisors Organizational Meeting Held

January 6, 2010
Dysart Reporter


Joyce Wiese

Monday morning the Tama County Board of Supervisors met for the annual reorganization meeting. Supervisor Dan Wilkins was elected Chairman and Supervisor Kendall Jordan for Vice Chairman. County Auditor Laura Kopsa was authorized to pay all claims as signed by a majority of the Board of Supervisors in 2010. Kopsa shall also pay postage, express freight, wages and salaries prior to being audited by the Board of Supervisors. The Tama News Herald, Toledo Chronicle and Traer Star Clipper have all been designated official newspapers for Tama County for 2010. Resolutions passed were for the Temporary Road Closures which allows temporarily closed sections of a highway when reasonably necessary because of construction, reconstruction, maintenance or natural disaster and shall cause to be erected ROAD CLOSED signs and partial or total barricades in the roadway at each end of the closed highway section and on the closed highway where that highway is intersected by other highways if the intersections remain open. Any road closed for more than forty-eight hours shall have a designated detour route. The County Engineer, Lyle Brehm, is authorized to close Tama County Secondary Roads as necessary with the actual dates of closure to be determined by Brehm for any construction, emergency closure for any road maintenance purpose, or any route deemed necessary by the County Engineer. Banks designated as depositories for 2010 are the County Auditor for $20,000 at the State Bank of Toledo, County Recorder for $125,000 at the State Bank of Toledo, the County Sheriff for $200,000 at the State Bank of Toledo. The Sheriff shall also have $10,000 at the Farmer's Savings Bank in Traer, $10,000 at the F&M Bank in Gladbrook and $25,000 for the Lincoln Savings Bank in Tama. The County Treasurer has authorization to deposit county funds up to $100,000 at Regions Bank in Traer, $3,000,000 in the Iowa Public Agency Investment Trust and the United Bank & Trust at Marshalltown, $7,000,000 in the State Bank of Toledo and Lincoln Savings Bank, Tama, $1,000,000 in Dysart State Bank and Chelsea Savings Bank, $1,500,000 at the Farmers Savings Bank in Traer, $5,000,000 at the F&M Bank at Gladbrook and $6,.000,000 at Home Federal Savings in Toledo. Appointments to the following committees were appointed. Dan Wilkens will serve on the Decat Executive Board (DHS), DHS Advisory Board, 6th Judicial District and SATUCI. Wilkins and Kendall Jordan will share the Tama County Day Care Center. Jordan will serve on Workforce Development, Region Vl Planning Commission, R.C.&D Commission (D.N.R. & U.S. Fish and Wildlife), Northeast Iowa Response, E911 Service Board, County Emergency Agency, Farm Administration (County Farm Rental), and Heartland Insurance as Alternate Trustee, also as an alternate on the Board of Health Jordan will share duties with Larry Vest on the Empowerment Board, Local Emergency Planning, Central Iowa Juvenile Detention. Vest will serve on the Empowerment Board, Empowerment Board Health Insurance Advisory Group and Contact Person for Insurance Information and as County Trustee for Heartland Risk Pool Insurance. The entire board will serve on County Buildings (Including the Care Facility), Tama County Economic Development Commission and Landfill commission. Dirk Henle will be ADA Coordinator and Maintenance Supervisor. Safety Coordinators for Risk Pool Insurance will be Lyle Brehm and Dirk Henle., Susan Jones will serve as Heartland Insurance Coordinator. Reappointments go to Lyle Brehm, County Engineer, Todd Rickert, Central Point of Coordination, Dr. Dennis Mallory as Medical Examiner and Medical Examiner Investigators Brian Ellenbecker, Greg Johnson, Craig Karr, John Carr, Bruce McEltree, DalLynn Hotchkiss and Brian Drewry. Relief Director and Veterans Affairs for Elizabeth Ledvina, Dirk Henle as Weed Commissioner and Bill Christiansen as Zoning Administrator. Designated as Holidays is Presidents Day on February 15, Good Friday on April 2, Memorial Day on May 31, July 4th on Monday July 5th, Labor Day on September 6, Veterans Day November 11, Thanksgiving on Thursday and Friday, November 25 and 26, Christmas Eve, December 24 and Christmas Day December 25, New Years Day December 31. IT WAS ALSO DECIDED TO HOLD THE REGULAR SUPERVISORS MEETINGS ON MONDAYS INSTEAD OF TUESDAYS AT 9:30 a.m. There was two changes in the Tama County Compensation Commission for Condemnation Proceedings. Jason Lekin, Toledo and Julie Elliott, Dysart, will serve on the Licensed Real Estate Brokers and Sales Persons Division. A Construction Evaluation Resolution was approved which sets out the procedure if a board of supervisors wish to adopt a construction evaluation relating to the construction of a confinement feeding operation structure. Only counties that have adopted a resolution can submit to the Department of Natural Resources an adopted recommendation to approve or disapprove a construction permit application regarding a proposed confinement feeding operation structure.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web