Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

NEIBA Solo Ensemble Contest

May 27, 2009
Dysart Reporter

Several Union Middle school Band members participated in the NEIBA Solo Ensemble Contest on March 31st, 2009. The contest was a great success. An "Excellent" rating was earned and red ribbons were awarded to 8th graders Tierra Hunter Metzger on clarinet and Emily Gleason on flute, 7th graders Kylie Wrobel on baritone accompanied by Amy Wrobel on piano, Riley McDowell and Alex Bear on baritone saxophone, Michael DiGiacomo on alto saxophone, 6th graders Morgan Phillips on baritone, Nathan Dvorak on trumpet, Abby Ollendieck on alto saxophone, and Noah Dobson on snare drum. Blue ribbons and "Superior" ratings were awarded to 8th graders Marrysa Harkness on flute, Natalie Hanson on mallets, Lindsey Powell on trumpet, Justin Turner on tuba, Austin Pauling on clarinet, 7th grader Madeline LaPage on alto saxophone, 6th graders Kaitlin Moore on alto saxophone, Grant Mullen on trombone, Dakota Hopper, Gabe Klein, Dobson Douglass, and Nathan Ferguson on trumpet, and Brandon Hill on tuba. Two performances were chosen for the "Highly Superior" Rating and awarded gold ribbons. Recipient of the Highly Superior rating was 8th grade Marissa LaPage for her clarinet solo "Musette" by Joseph Paulson and 7th grade Kristen Lowe for her multiple percussion solo "Etude No. 40" by Duane Thamm. Bill Livingston judged the contest and Mary Aschenbrenner accompanied the students on piano. Congratulations to all of these students on their successful performances.

Article Photos

Eighth Grade Soloist



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web